Header Graphic
Public Workshops > Anti-Racism 101: Crucial Conversations about Race (Live Virtual Workshop)
Anti-Racism 101: Crucial Conversations about Race (Live Virtual Workshop)

The product you selected is currently unavailable.

Orig. Price: $475.00
Sale Price: $400.00
Availability: in stock
Prod. Code: 21

 
Date:

November 18 and 25,  2020 

Two 3 hour virtual training sessions plus 30 minutes of pre-workshop activities which will be sent a few days before each session.

 

Time:

7am to 10am PST,

8am to 11am MST,

9am to 12pm CST,

10am to 1pm EST,

11am to 2pm AST,

10:30am to 2:30pm NST

 

Location:  

This session is not a  traditional webinar but a live virtual training! These two 3 hour virtual sessions will be highly interactive where participants engage with each other in discussions, case studies and skill development in both small breakout groups as well as in the main classroom. You will be listening to the facilitator and you will communicate with the facilitator and other participants using chat. You will not be seen and only heard if you ask questions via audio rather than chat.

The session will take place using Adobe Connect which can be downloaded on your device without cost.  Download instructions will be sent in advance of the training.

To watch an event on Livestream, please ensure you have the following:

  • System Requirements: Windows 7 or higher, Mac OS X 10.6 or higher
  • Supported desktop browsers: Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox, Safari 8 or higher, **Internet Explorer 11 and 10, Microsoft Edge
  • Supported mobile browsers: Chrome, Firefox, Safari (iOS), Android native browser (Samsung devices only)
  • Adobe Flash Playerhttp://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/
  • Java:http://www.java.com/en/download/
  • Internet Connection: 5-10mbps download speed is recommended. Check your connection at speedtest.net.
Fee:

Regular registration fee is $475.00 per person.  Early bird registration fee of $400 available until October 31, 2020.  NO REFUNDS although the fee is transferable to another person for the same workshop.

Virtual spots are limited. 

For questions please call Priti at 204-477-5985 or email pritisha@mts.net 

 

Workshop Objectives:
Workshop Objectives will Include:
 
Where did the term Race originate?
 
Agreements for Creating a Safe Space for Training
 
Identifying the Fears in  Addressing Race
 
Key Terminology
 
History of Racism and Colonialism in Canada
 
Understanding Social Identity and Unconscious Bias
-How to reduce bias in hiring
 
The Role of  Privilege, Power & Stereotypes
 
Micro-Aggressions: How do we knowinglyor unknowingly contribute to the experience of racism
Deconstructing Racism
-Systemic
-Institutional
-Interpersonal
-Internalized
 
Examining Systemic Racism Within the Workplace
 
The Business case for Addressing Racial Inequality
 
Strategies to correct racial inequities and correct unfair practices within the workplace
 
Tools to foster inclusive leadership: Educate, Accept, Support, Evaluate
 
Advancing Along the Allyship Spectrum: Denial, Bystander, Upstander, Inclusive, Champion
 
How to Interrupt Racism:-Tackling Uncomfortable Conversations & Dispelling Common Myths
 
Organizational & Individual Action Plan
 
 
PRITI SHAH, B.A., LLB., C. Med.
481 Brock Street • Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada • R3N 0Z2
Phone: (204) 477-5985  • Email: pritisha@mts.net